LDW-188 Barrow Fell 10/02/22

My Wife & I had to go to Keswick today and fancied a walk on the way , so after a quick look at the forecast thought we’d take a chance and do Barrow Fell , we are building our fitness back up after a couple of years neglecting the fells, and so posted a last minute activation for midday before setting off.
We reached the summit about 11:40 and there was a bit of a draught up there. I am new to all this WOTA/SOTA but I have quite a bit of experience handling fishing gear like rods umbrellas and boats in what most Lakeland weather can throw at them , so boldly put up my antenna and stood back and watched as the poles bent in the “breeze” like a rod with a decent pike on the end .
I made my first call right on time which was kindly answered by Tim G4YTD , who was now talking to someone using a horizontally polarised antenna! My “assistant” saw my predicament and adjusted the polarity for me as I was writing notes , this improved the signal report somewhat . Tim thought this might make a good photo !
I had another two calls immediately from Geoff G4WHA/A who I last spoke to on Ling Fell a week or so ago and John G0TDM . Thank you all for calling in and being part of my experience today .
I put the remote aerial away and stayed another quarter of an hour just using a fixed one on the hand held , then headed down , while we were still enjoying it, so sorry to anyone who may have seen the spot , and came on after 12:20 or so.
Another learning experience , and nothing broke , it was just the inadequate guy lines and pegs I was using and where the antenna joined the pole needed modified a bit , but it was maybe a bit ambitious trying to use that particular aerial today , after deciding not to on Ling fell in less severe conditions opting for the fixed hand held whip so avoid what happened today .
73 Richard . M7MGO

2 Likes

Hi Richard,