MorseGen, QSL Cards and Equipment

Morse Code

I was reading Julian G4ILO’s page on the FT-817 and there was a link to his MorseGen software. I have come across this software before. It is really excellent, does exactly what it is designed to do without any fuss. The features are spot on. I can’t fault it. I shall be making use of it as I continue my learning journey.

MorseGen

I’m also using the K7QO Code Course which works really well with a mobile phone, headphones and notepad. It gives me no excuses not to practice anytime, anywhere.

I tried to learn Morse Code in 2018 - and indeed have just received confirmation via QSL card of my first successful CW contact, whist chasing a SOTA operator.

QSL Cards

I finally got round to having some QSL cards printed professionally about 6 months ago and had to work through writing replies for the cards I have been receiving sporadically for the past 18 months as well as starting to send out cards for some of my more memorable QSOs and SOTA/WOTA/HEMA activations. Sorting them into DX entity piles really brought home how much fun I’ve had with HF over the past 4 years!

QSL cards sorting into DX prefix

A New Dipole

I made use of the break in the weather this afternoon to complete a new Inverted V dipole. When operating from the fells with HF I use the tried and tested SOTABeams Band Hopper IV Linked Dipole. As purchased it has sections for 20m, 30m, 40m & 80m. After 18 months of grueling use I ended up rewiring mine, and chose to swap the 30m section for a 60m section as I found I was missing the odd chase for 60m on SSB. If I pick up CW again I’ll add a 30m section back into the SOTABeams antenna.

The SOTABeams dipole is rated for 100w (although I have pushed 150 watts through it SSB with no obvious side effects) and I wanted one that could handle higher power.